skip navigation

Rollins Announces Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2020

Rollins Announces Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2020

WINTER PARK, Fla. (January 10, 2020) – Rollins Director of Athletics Pennie Parker has announced seven former student-athletes for the Rollins Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2020. 

Thomas Biddinger '10, '11MBA (men's soccer), Brian Compton '08 (men's tennis), Lucas Jovita '13MBA (men's tennis), Jeff Morris '12 (men's tennis), Christine Roser '11 (softball), Bettina Walker '89  (women's golf) and Nick Wolf '10, '13MBA (men's basketball) are set to be enshrined in the Hall of Fame.   

The 2020 induction ceremony is set for Thursday, March 26, at the Alfond Inn Ballroom and will kick off Rollins Alumni Weekend. CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR THE HALL OF FAME DINNER

Thomas Biddinger led Rollins men's soccer to new heights in his career, leading the Tars to a runner-up finish at the 2010 NCAA Division II National Championship. He was a two-time All-American; honorable mention as a junior in 2009 and First Team his senior year in 2010. Biddinger was the 2010 Sunshine State Conference Defensive Player of the Year while leading the Tars to a pair of SSC titles. Off the field, he was selected CoSIDA Academic All-District three times. 

Brian Compton was one of the nation's top-ranked tennis players throughout his career. A three-time All-American, he and doubles partner Jonathan Gomez finished the season ranked No. 10 nationally in 2007 and No. 9 in 2008. In singles play, Compton was First Team All-Sunshine State Conference in 2008 and closed the season ranked No. 10 in the nation, garnering ITA All-America honors. 

Lucas Jovita put together the most decorated season in Rollins history during his year with Tars men's tennis. In the fall of 2011, he won the Wilson/ITA South Region Championship and ITA Division II Singles National Championship. The Brazilian then became the only player in program history to win the ITA "Super Bowl" as the national singles champion of NCAA Division II, Division III, NAIA and JUCO. Jovita finished the spring season as the SSC Player of the Year while ranking No. 2 in singles and joining Jason Alabaster to rank No. 10 in doubles. He was also named a 2012 ITA National Scholar-Athlete. 

Jeff Morris was a three-time All-American, four-time ITA National Scholar-Athlete and four-time All-SSC honoree in his career with Rollins men's tennis. In 2010, he was named the SSC Player of the Year, earning first team All-SSC honors in both singles and doubles. He and Neil Clausen ranked No. 5 in the national doubles ranking while individually Morris finished the season ranked No. 7 in singles. Morris was the No. 13 ranked singles player in 2011 and No. 10 in 2012, also landing in the All-SSC First Team each of those seasons. 

Christine Roser left Rollins as the most decorated player in Tars softball history. She was a three-time All-American; twice earning spots on the First Team. The Winter Springs, Florida native was twice named Diamond National Catcher of the Year and First Team All-SSC every season. Roser bookended her career with SSC Freshman of the Year honors in 2008 and the SSC =Player of the Year award in 2011. She left Rollins as the program leader in hits, doubles, home runs, RBIs and runs scored. Roser led Rollins to three-straight SSC championships and four trips to the NCAA Division II Tournament.   

Bettina Walker embodied the Rollins student-athlete, earning the first CoSIDA Academic All-America in school history. She was a two-time NCAA Small College Champion, winning in 1988 and 1989, while finishing runner-up in 1987. She received at-large bids to the NCAA Division I national championship each year of her career. 

Nick Wolf led Rollins men's basketball to its most successful four-year run in school history while earning multiple individual accolades. The Tars went 91-32 with two SSC championships, two SSC Tournament titles, and a pair of NCAA Division II National Championship appearances with Wolf in uniform. He was a three-time All-American, earning First Team honors in 2010 and twice being named Honorable Mention. The Cincinnati native was First Team All-SSC three times, earning the SSC Player of the Year award in 2009. He is the only player in program history with 2000 points and 1000 rebounds, ranking second in both categories. In all, Wolf left Rollins ranked in the top-15 in six statistical categories. He joins uncles Jeff, Dan, and David Wolf in the Rollins Sports Hall of Fame. 

Established in 1977 to honor the history of Rollins College Athletics, the Sports Hall of Fame now boasts 234 members who embody the spirit of a Tar and comprise the rich 123 years of intercollegiate sports tradition at Rollins.